All Indian expatriates working in 18 countries must register online before travelling

Dubai: The Indian government’s new online registration will be applicable to all Indians working in the UAE and 17 other notified countries from January 1, 2019,  Those who fail to do so will not be allowed to board their flights to these countries.

India has made online registration mandatory for all Indians not requiring emigration checks going for overseas employment to 18 notified countries including the UAE.

The Ministry of External Affairs (MEA) has issued an advisory announcing the mandatory registration of Non-Emigration Check Required (Non-ECR or ECNR) passport holding Indians through the website to provide protection and welfare to the Indian emigrants abroad.

M.C. Luther, joint secretary for overseas employment and protector general of emigrants, clarified that only one-time registration is required as long as an Indian remains on the same company’s employment visa. It is not necessary to register every time one goes back home unless there is a change in visa.

Registration must be completed on the eMigrate portal between 21 days and 24 hours prior to the date of travel.

Those who fail to do so will be offloaded, according to a recent advisory issued by the Ministry of External AffairsEmigration Clearance Required (ECR) passport holders who change their passport status to ECNR after three years of overseas employment will also have to complete the ECNR registration.


Post Your Comments

Back to top button