Assam: BJP led NDA leads in 77 seats; inches towards victory

The ruling BJP-led alliance in Assam is set to create history in the state by becoming the only non-Congress government to win consecutive terms.

BJP led NDA is leading in 77 assembly seats, while the Grand Alliance spearheaded by the Congress is ahead in 48 seats.

At 6 pm, the BJP is leading in 62 seats and its partners- Asom Gana Parishad is ahead 10 and United People’s Party, Liberal in seven constituencies.

Congress candidates are leading in 26 seats, while those of its ally AIUDF in 11 and Bodoland People’s Front in three. The majority mark in Assam is 64. Counting of votes for the Assam assembly elections began at 8 am today amid strict health protocols.

A three-tier security apparatus has also been arranged at the 331 counting halls across the state that voted in three phases on March 27, April 1 and April 6.

With the BJP looking to retain power in Assam once again, Union Defence Minister Rajnath Singh congratulated Prime Minister Narendra Modi, CM Sarbanand Sonowal and party president J P Nadda on BJP’s ‘impressive victory’ in the state.


Post Your Comments

Back to top button